Cupcake Cones

23 Jul

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream! This chant is always repeated whenever someone brings out ice cream, and although this looks like a traditional ice cream cone, it is a surprising twist on two traditional desserts. This recipe is one I have wanted to try forever. I was curious of how a cupcake would do while being surrounded by a cone. Luckily I was very pleasantly surprised by how well the crunchy cone complimented the sweet light cupcake flavors and textures. Plus it looks very cute in the end! Not having the cupcakes topple over is hard, second only to getting the frosting to stay up like soft serve.  Don’t let these challenges discourage you, though, the end result is definitely worth it. I love this recipe, as do my friends and family.

Ingredients:
1 Box Vanilla Cake Mix
24 Flat-bottomed Cake Cones
2 Containers Butter Cream Frosting
1 Tube Colorful Sprinkles

Method:
1. Pre-heat the oven according to the cake box recipe.
2. Prepare the cake batter following the box instructions.
3. Stand the cones upright in a mini-cupcake baking tray.
4. Pour the batter into the cone until two-thirds to the top.
5. Bake the cupcakes following the instructions on the box, watching until they are golden brown.
6. Allow the cupcakes to cool for 10-15 minutes and then frost in a swirling upward motion to have the appearance of soft serve.
7. Sprinkle and enjoy!
Serves 24

*SUBSTITUTIONS
Any Cake Mix for Vanilla Cake Mix
Any Frosting for Butter Cream Frosting

4 Responses to “Cupcake Cones”

  1. madeleine July 23, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    I love this recipe! I will defiantly try this at home. The outside is so cute and I am sure that the middle is so delicious! It’s a combination of my two favorite things: cupcakes and ice cream! Yummy!

  2. seaturtleswhatcupcakes July 23, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    I want one of those so bad! (Even though I just had one) I think that tonight I am going to go to the store and buy supplies for this recipe. Later, maybe in the morning, I will make these delicious looking, and tasting, cupcake cones!

  3. Catherine July 23, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    My goodness that so looks delicous. Yum. The sprinkles don’t help either.

  4. epicuritopia July 24, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    You are an excellent food photographer!

Leave a Reply

